A Different Kind of Night Stand

Why keep it traditional when you can rock an original?

When I moved into my first solo apartment in New York, my mom came up and helped me decorate. We happened upon a teeny tiny antique store on the Upper East Side. It was so packed with stuff that you really were too overwhelmed to even begin to sort through it and the space was too small for you to even try.

As I was quick to give up hope and heading for the door, my ever-determined mother jumped up shouting “LOOK! Look what I found!” Mind you, she shouted so loudly that passersby on the street stopped and started to poke around too. You know New Yorkers–too jealous to let anyone have that could be theirs instead. Friendly competition.

Back to the story. What my mom found was an antique mini-fridge. About two feet high with a painted bright blue wooden frame. A wooden frame that encased a 1,000 lb (or what sure as hell felt like it) marble box used to refrigerate food back before ice-boxes came about. It was probably the neatest night stand I ever had. And ever since, I’ve had a thing for unique night stands.

This entry was published on April 24, 2012 at 6:00 am. It’s filed under Accessories, Bedrooms and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

